Skip to main content

Baruch Fischhoff Tribute

Tribute for Baruch Fischhoff

At the 2016 Society for Judgment and Decision Making (SJDM) conference in Boston, members of the Centre for Decision Research held a tribute for Baruch Fischhoff. You can watch a video of the tribute below.

We celebrated Baruch's wonderful contributions to SJDM, other fields, real-world policy, our work and our personal lives.

Baruch Fischhoff is the Howard Heinz University Professor at Carnegie Mellon University’s Department of Engineering and Public Policy and Institute for Politics and Strategy. He is also Visiting Professor at the Centre for Decision Research and Leeds University Business School.

His work has focused on risk management, risk communication, security, health, adolescence, and environment. He has authored or co-edited eleven books on these topics. He was founding chair of the Food and Drug Administration Risk Communication Advisory Committee, and currently co-chairs the National Research Council Committee on Future Research Goals and Directions for Foundational Science in Cybersecurity and the National Academy of Sciences Sackler Colloquium on “The Science of Science Communication.”

A list of presenters and links to the PowerPoint slides used in the tribute are below:

  • Wändi Bruine de Bruin, University of Leeds and Carnegie Mellon University (slides)
  • Daniel Kahneman, Princeton University
  • Ruth Beyth-Marom, The Open University of Israel (slides)
  • Maya Bar-Hillel, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Paul Slovic, Decision Research (slides)
  • Granger Morgan, Carnegie Mellon University (slides)
  • Lisa Schwartz & Steven Woloshin, Dartmouth College (slides)
  • Jennifer Lerner, Harvard University
  • Sara Eggers, US Food and Drug Administration (slides)
  • Tamar Krishnamurti, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Barry Dewitt, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Maya Fischhoff, Western University (slides)
  • Baruch Fischhoff, Carnegie Mellon University (slides)

The tribute was organised by Wändi Bruine de Bruin (chair), Maya Bar-Hillel, Ann Bostrom, and Andrew Parker. The video was recorded by Leisha Wharfield.

Photos of Baruch’s Tribute courtesy of Maya Bar-Hillel, Ann Bostrom, Barry Dewitt, Baruch Fischhoff, Robert Hamm, Andrew Parker, Barbara Tversky, and members of the Society for Judgment and Decision Making.